Eastbound logo Westbound logo

The TransAtlantic Fan Fund
Unofficial Home

From the TAFF ballot form: The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund was created in 1953 for the purpose of providing funds to bring well-known and popular [science fiction] fans familiar to those on both sides of the ocean across the Atlantic. Since that time TAFF has regularly brought North American fans to European conventions and European fans to North American conventions. TAFF exists solely through the support of fandom. The candidates are voted on by interested fans all over the world, and each vote is accompanied by a donation [...] These votes, and the continued generosity of fandom, are what make TAFF possible. (See past and present ballot forms for more.)

     TAFF site Web


    Current Administrators
  • Europe: Johan Anglemark, Lingonv. 10, SE-74340 Storvreta, Sweden. Email EUTAFF (at) gmail.com.
  • North America: Geri Sullivan, 37 Monson Road, Wales, MA 01081-9743, USA. Email TAFF (at) toad-hall.com.
  • Email both administrators

TAFF Archive

Announcements & Updates

6 October 2019 John Purcell, former North American TAFF administrator from 2017 to 2019, has deleted his TAFF-specific Gmail account with user name 2017taff2019. Although this is listed a few times in past announcements and ballot forms, it's hardly necessary to tell friends of TAFF that the latest contact addresses on the TAFF home page are the ones to use.

24 September 2019 The 2020 race is announced! [PDF document] "We, the current administrators of The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund, issue a call for nominations for the 2020 TAFF race, to go from North America to Europe. The winner will attend Concentric: Eastercon 2020, in Birmingham, UK, (www.concentric2020.uk) from April 10 to April 13, 2020. Yes, it is an eastbound race for the second consecutive year. Looking at the next five Worldcons and Worldcon bids, that makes the most sense, we think. The nomination deadline is 31 October, 2019."

24-26 April 2019 Geri Sullivan is this year's TAFF delegate and will attend Dublin 2019: see the initial announcement and the detailed press release with voting breakdown. • Claire Brialey reports that over £1000 was raised by the TAFF/GUFF auction at Ytterbium (the UK Eastercon), with further donations and voting fees bringing the total to well over £2000; John Purcell adds that voting donations on the North American side exceeded $1500.

April 2019 Yet another addition to the free ebooks on this site: Francis T. Laney's infamous 1948 fan memoir and polemic Ah! Sweet Idiocy!. Also (though not exclusive to this site) A TAFF Guide to Beer, first published April 2019.

6 March 2019 The four candidates in the current TAFF race answer mercilessly probing questions in TAFF News Redux #2.

January 2019 Jim Mowatt's 2013 trip report Wherever I Lay My Hat! is now available as a free PDF download from this site.

19 December 2018 TAFF News Redux reminds us of the state of play in the current race and includes a ballot form. John Purcell urges us all to share it far and wide.

1 December 2018 Voting is now open in the 2019 race with candidates Teresa Cochran, Sarah Gulde, Mike Lowrey, and Geri Sullivan. The online voting form is active; this and the 2019 ballot form both include the candidates' hard-sell platforms; there is also a printable PDF ballot.

30 November 2018 With the addition today of David Langford's Don't Try This At Home: Selected Convention Reports, there are now 31 titles on this site's Free Ebooks page.

23 November 2018 John Purcell writes: "While Johan Anglemark prepares the official ballot for the 2019 TAFF race to the Dublin Worldcon next year, we are proud to announce the names of the four candidates: they are Teresa Cochran, Sarah Gulde, Mike Lowrey, and Geri Sullivan. / Voting begins on December 1, 2018 and ends on April 22, 2019. (John Purcell, North American TAFF administrator; Johan Anglemark, European TAFF Administrator)"

1 October 2018 Here is the official PDF newsletter announcing the opening of nominations for the 2019 TAFF race.

10 September 2018 The administrators John Purcell and Johan Anglemark announce that TAFF nominations for the 2019 eastbound race (whose winner is to attend the Dublin Worldcon) will open on 1 October 2018, closing on 22 November 2018, with votes accepted from 1 December 2018 to the closing date of 22 April 2019. Candidates need three North American and two European nominators and must also provide a platform of not more than 101 words and $20 USD bond sent via PayPal to 2017taff2019 [at] gmail dot com. • A more detailed newsletter announcement is in preparation.

August 2018 This year's delegate Johan Anglemark is recording progress at his 2018 TAFF trip blog. John Purcell reports good results from the ArmadilloCon 40 auction.

July 2018 TAFF News Special Report gives details of 2018 delegate Johan Anglemark's trip itinerary. • Jim Mowatt has more good news about his trip report (see 26 April below): "'I have recently sent copies of my 2013 TAFF report to SCIFI and FANAC and both happily paid 500 dollars each into the TAFF coffers, so helping us to keep sending more delegates across the ocean to strengthen the science fictional bonds that enhance our community. Many thanks to both these fine organisations for their encouragement and support for the Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund." An ebook version is in preparation.

26 April 2018 Jim Mowatt announces publication of his 2013 TAFF Report, Wherever I Lay My Hat!: "After years of desperate procrastination the report of my 2013 TAFF trip to North America is now complete. It tells the tale of my visits to Toronto, Abingdon, Seattle, Santa Cruz, San Francisco, Las Vegas, San Antonio (Worldcon) and New Orleans. It features art from (in order of appearance) Alan White, Al Sirois, Stu Shiffman, Carrie Mowatt, D. West, Taral Wayne, Brad Foster, Allison Hershey, Ulf Skei, Valeri Purcell, Julie McMurray and Anne Stokes. There are many fine full colour photos of frolicking fans and I’ve even shoved a few words in there. I’m recommending a donation to Taff of about 20 pounds (28 or 29 dollars) and you can donate using the Taff donations buttons at taff.org.uk. Email me, jim (at) umor.co.uk or John Purcell at 2017taff2019 (at) gmail.com and we’ll post out a copy."

Jim Mowatt's trip report

Older Bulletins from this page