1971 TAFF Ballot

WHAT IS TAFF? The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund was created in 1953 for the purpose of providing funds to bring well-known and popular fans across the Atlantic. Since that time, TAFF has regularly brought overseas fans to the U.S.A. and sent American fans to European conventions. TAFF exists solely through the support of fandom. The candidates are voted on by interested fans all over the world and each vote is accompanied by a donation of not less than one dollar. These votes, and the continued interest of fans are what make TAFF possible.

WHO MAY VOTE? Voting is open to anyone who was active in fandom (i.e. fanzines, clubs, conventions, etc.) prior to September 1969, and who contributes at least a dollar (or equivalent) to the fund. Contributions in excess of the minimum will be gratefully accepted. Only one vote per person is allowed, no proxy votes, and you must sign your ballot. Details of voting will be kept secret, write-ins are permitted. Money orders and checks should be made payable to the administrators -- not to TAFF.

DEADLINE: Votes must reach the administrators by July 10, 1971.

VOTING DETAILS: TAFF uses the Australian system which guarantees an automatic run-off and a majority win. You rank the candidates in the exact order you wish to vote. If the leading first place candidate does not get a majority, the first place votes of the lowest ranking candidate are dropped, and the second place votes on those ballots are counted. This process goes on until one candidate has a majority. It is therefore important to vote for 2nd, 3rd, etc. place on your ballot. It is also a waste of time to put one name in more than one place.

HOLD OVER FUNDS: This choice, similar to "no award" in Hugo balloting, gives the voter the chance to vote for no TAFF trip if the candidates do not appeal to him or if he feels TAFF should slow down its program of trips. Vote for "hold over funds" in any position you wish as if it were another candidate.

DONATIONS: TAFF needs continuous donations of money and material (to be auctioned) in order to exist. If you are ineligible to vote, or do not feel qualified to vote, why not donate anyway. It's a good cause.

CANDIDATES: Each candidate has promised, barring acts of God, to travel to the 29th World SF Convention in Boston. They have posted bond and provided signed nominations and platforms which are reproduced on the other side of this sheet along with the ballot.




Elliot Shorter
Box 309, Jerome Ave. Station
Bronx NY 10468

Eddie Jones
72 Antonio St.
Bootle 20, Lancs., U.K.

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: Your ballot and contribution entitle you to a free chance in a lottery for two pieces of original artwork. These will be color paintings, not black and white or sketches, so please make sure your name and address on the other side are legible.

Ballots written and prepared by Charles and Dena Brown. Mimeography courtesy of Locus.

Reproductions of this form are authorized and encouraged, provided that the text is reproduced verbatim.

side 2:


Mario Bosnyak

Mario, who was born in Italy in 1929 and has lived in Germany for 16 years, is a new factor in TAFF. Usually very well known fans are proposed. Mario is well known to those who were interested in Heicon -- he was the secretary and the man mainly responsible for the successful running of the convention. He's never published a fanzine & has written few letters to them. Though he started reading sf in 1939, he never heard of fandom or sf clubs until 1967, but has been working hard since. His ideal is to promote international fandom and contacts between fans from all over the world. He speaks 5 languages and is uniquely qualified to do this. He is at present involved in planning the first Eurocon which will take place in 1972. He is charming and very easy to talk to as those of us who met him at St.Louiscon or Heicon can enthusiastically testify! If he wins, Mario would be a fine ambassador for most of European fandom. Why not vote for him?

Nominated by John Brunner, Walter Ernsting, Fred Patten, Tom Schlück, and Don Wollheim.

Per Insulander

Internationalism is the key word these days, and in the light of this we think Per Insulander is a perfect choice. He's well known both in Sweden, and abroad, and he's also one of the fans responsible for the growing Swedish interest in foreign fandoms. Per has been active in Swedish fandom for a long time by now and among his credentials can be mentioned: editor of SF Forum, Forum International, Mentat, Asgard, and the Swedish Fanac, secretary of the Stockholm in 76 bidding committee, chairman of the next Scandinavian convention. He's also a regular congoer and a popular party-conversationalist. Why always pick an Englishman (or a German)? Try something brand new! Try a Swede!

Nominated by Juanita Coulson, Hans-Werner Heinrichs, John-Henri Holmberg, Manfred Kage, Lesleigh Luttrell.

Terry Jeeves

There just couldn't be a better or more deserving person than Terry Jeeves for TAFF. Terry is one of Britain's finest fans and is also active from Argentina to Australia, cartooning and writing his way through a host of fanzines. Terry is a member of First Fandom and started in 1938 by subbing to Walt Gillings' Scientifiction. Since then he has attended most of Britain's Eastercons and has been active in the BSFA (former chairman), N3F, and the ISFCC (vice president). Evidence of his wide fannish range is easy to come by: publisher of the fine fanzine Triode, and his current OMPAzine Erg, former editor of Vector, bibliographer of Astounding, illustrator and cartoonist, and holder of a clutch of con art awards, article writer and author, and winner of the N3F short story competition. Just think of the Jeeves' TAFF report -- he's an excellent fan writer, cartoonist, and cine-photographer: As one American fan says: 'I quite honestly would enjoy meeting one and all of the British fans ... but if we must be restricted to one, let it be Terry Jeeves!'

Nominated by Bill Bowers, Lynn Hickman, Ethel Lindsay, Darroll and Rosemary Pardoe, Peter Roberts.

Pete Weston

Pete is the outstanding British fan of the past five years. He began his fannish career as a member of the Birmingham group, has gone on to co-found the Univ. of Aston group, organized the Speculation conferences, and ran Eastercon 22, the largest UK con ever held. But Peter is not just a club fan! His journal of SF criticism, Speculation, is one of the international mainstays of contemporary fandom. Pete is a thoughtful writer, a zesty social figure, and an all round good fellow! His wife Eileen will accompany him to Boston should he win -- and he should win: he's the natural choice.

Nominated by Greg Benford, Charlie Brown, Ken Bulmer, Waldemar Kumming, and Chris Priest.

I vote for (list 1, 2, 3, etc.)







Name (please print):


Enclosed is ________ as a contribution to TAFF.

If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, in order to qualify for voting please give the name and address of a fan or fan group to whom you are known: