2018 TAFF Ballot
Europe to North America

Please read both sides before voting and send the entire sheet as your vote.

The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund was created in 1953 for the purpose of providing funds to bring well-known and active fans familiar to those on both sides of the ocean across the Atlantic. Since that time, TAFF has regularly brought North American fans to European conventions and European fans to North American conventions. It exists solely through the support of fandom. That support, and the continued generosity of fandom, are what make TAFF possible.

Who may vote?

Voting in the 2018 race is open to anyone active in fandom before April 2016 who donates at least £3.00 (GBP) or $4.00 (USD) to TAFF (larger donations are very gratefully accepted). Voting is by secret ballot: one vote per person, and you must provide your name on the ballot. You may change your vote at any time prior to the deadline. All votes must reach the administrators by midnight (Eastern US time) on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.


TAFF gratefully accepts your freely given money, material for auction and other relevant donations; such generosity has sustained the Fund for more than 60 years. TAFF is fandom's longest-running travel fund – give early and often! Please contact your nearest administrator for details.


Each candidate has posted a bond of $20 promising to travel, if elected, to the 2018 Worldcon in San Jose, California. Each candidate has three nominators on their side of the Atlantic and two on the other, each of whom has personally contacted the administrators with their nomination. Each candidate has also provided a platform of up to 101 words (published overleaf). Anyone active in SF fandom can run for TAFF as long as they fulfil these criteria for the relevant race; contact your administrator about future races!

Voting System:

TAFF uses a preference voting system similar to the system used in voting for the Hugo Awards. Voters should rank candidates in order of preference. This allows for the lowest-ranked candidates to be eliminated from the race and those votes redistributed according to the next ranking until one candidate has a clear majority. A candidate must receive at least 20% of the #1 rank votes on both sides of the Atlantic to win. Any candidate failing to receive this minimum percentage on either side will be dropped, and the second-place votes on their ballots counted as first-place votes in the next ballot count. Votes will be counted according to a voter's contact address, not where they send their ballot. Votes from fans not resident in either Europe or North America will not count towards either side of the Atlantic for the purpose of this rule.

"Hold Over Funds":

This choice, like "No Award" in Hugo balloting, gives you the chance to vote for no TAFF trip this year, should you feel none of the candidates deserve your support. "Hold Over Funds" is exempt from the 20% requirement: if it receives a majority of the votes on the final ballot, no trip will be held this year.

"No Preference":

For voters who prefer not to choose between candidates, but don't want the trip held over.

How to Vote:

Either send a copy of this form with a check, or pay via PayPal. The minimum donation to vote is $4 (USD) or £3 (GBP) or €3.50 (EUR). Checks should be made payable to "John Purcell" (for checks in USD) or to "TAFF" (for cheques in GBP or Euros). PayPal donations should be made to the email addresses below with your contact details and your ranked voting preferences in the comments section. If you do not fill in the comments section, your vote may not be counted! Send your signed and completed ballot form and donation to:

Europe: Anna Raftery – cheques payable to "TAFF"

13 Chatham House, 10 Melbourne Road, Wallington, SM6 8SB UK. Paypal using email: EUTAFF(at) gmail.com

North America: John Purcell – Checks payable to "John Purcell"

3744 Marielene Circle, College Station, TX 77845 USA.. Paypal using email: 2017taff2019(at)gmail.com

The 2018 TAFF Candidates

Johan Anglemark

I met fandom in 1983. Soon I was involved in con-running and I've never stopped; I'm on two concoms currently. I've attended all European Worldcons since 1990, but never one in America; I would love to do that through TAFF, and write a trip report. I'm co-administrator of the Swedish branch of the Nordic Fan Fund and the chair of the Alvar Appeltofft Memorial Foundation, a fannish charity. When not on staff, I flog used books at cons. I live with Linnéa in a house full of cats, games, vinyl records, and books, and earn my living as a tech writer.

Nominated by: (Europe) Caroline Mullan, Ron Gemmell, Eemeli Aro. (NA) Ulrika O'Brien, Diane Lacey

Fia Karlsson

You can't spell FIAWOL without Fia! This wildling born north of the Arctic Circle came south bringing her friendly manners and passion for organizing with her. She lures you in with dill chips, but you stay for her genuineness.

She went from book-blogging to hosting a book circle, which grew into the fandom society in Malmö, Sweden. Fia has chaired two cons, worked as the Social Media Area Head for Worldcon 75, been adopted into the Finnish fandom, and was the 2017 Nordic Fan Fund delegate at Octocon in Dublin. She's now ready to Take on San Jose! Fia for TAFF!

Nominated by: (Europe) Jukka Halme, John-Henri Holmberg, Gareth Kavanagh. (NA) Lucy Huntzinger, Michael Lee.

Helena McCallum
(Adela Terrell)

My name is Helena McCallum, originally from Scotland. In 2002 my partner left me at home to attend the San Jose Worldcon with his friend. Now, 16 years and 2 children later, I seek your assistance for revenge. It will also be just before my 40th birthday, which may come as a surprise to some who remember my first forays into fandom in the mid-90s.

I was told people like me don't get to run for TAFF, so here I am. I'm friendly, out-going, and a fun person to have at a party, I'll bring a nice Whisky.

Nominated by: (Europe) Douglas Spencer, James Shields, David O’Neill. (NA) Pablo Vasquez, Tracy Benton.

Please rank candidates with 1, 2, etc. where 1 is your first preference:

[__] Johan Anglemark
[__] Fia Karlsson
[__] Helena McCallum
[__] Hold Over Funds
[__] No Preference


Address: Email/phone:

If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, please provide the name of an active fan (not a fan group, a candidate, or one of their nominators) who is known to the administrators and who can vouch for you being an active fan, eligible to vote.


TAFF may contact you regarding your ballot or to send out newsletters. We do not publish your data or pass it to any other organization.

Reproduction of this form is encouraged. It is the official voting vehicle and must be reproduced verbatim.

All votes must reach the administrators by midnight (Eastern US time) on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.

Anyone reproducing this form should substitute their name here: David Langford.