2015 TAFF Ballot
Europe to North America

The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund was created in the 1950s for the purpose of providing funds to bring well-known and popular fans familiar to those on both sides of the ocean across the Atlantic. Since that time, TAFF has regularly brought North American fans to European conventions and European fans to North American conventions. It exists solely through the support of fandom. Interested fans all over the world vote on the candidates, each vote being accompanied by a small minimum donation. These votes, and the continued generosity of fandom, are what make TAFF possible.

Who may vote? Voting in the 2015 race is open to anyone active in fandom before April 2013 who donates at least £2.00 (GBP) or $3.00 (USD) to TAFF (larger donations are gratefully accepted). Voting is by secret ballot: only one vote is counted per person, and you must give your name to the administrators. You may change your vote at any time prior to the deadline. Votes in this race must reach the administrators by 23:59 on Tuesday 7th April 2015 (British Summer Time aka UTC+1).

Donations: TAFF gratefully accepts your freely given money, material for auction and other relevant donations; such generosity has sustained the Fund for more than 50 years. TAFF is fandom's longest-running travel fund, and one of its worthiest causes – give early and often! Please contact your nearest administrator for details.

Candidates: Each candidate has posted a bond of £15, (or in this case a rough equivalent in Euros) promising – barring unforeseen circumstances – to travel, if elected, to the 2015 Worldcon in Spokane, Washington, USA (Sasquan, 19th August to 23rd August, 2015). Each candidate has three nominators on their side of the Atlantic and two on the other, each of whom has personally contacted the administrators with their nomination. Each candidate has also provided a platform of up to 101 words (published overleaf).Anyone active in SF fandom can run for TAFF as long as they fulfil these criteria for the relevant race; contact your administrator about future races!

Voting System: TAFF uses a preference voting system similar to the system used in voting for the Hugo Awards, for instance. Voters should rank candidates in order of preference (where a rank of 1 is the voter's first preference); where relevant, this allows for the lowest-ranked candidates to be eliminated from the race and those votes redistributed according to the next ranking until one candidate has a clear majority. However, a candidate must receive at least 20% of the #1 rank votes on both sides of the Atlantic to win. Any candidate failing to receive this minimum percentage on either side will be dropped, and the second-place votes on their ballots counted as first-place votes in the next ballot count. Votes will be counted according to a voter's contact address, not where they send their ballot. Votes from fans not resident in either Europe or North America will not count towards either side of the Atlantic for the purpose of this rule.

"Hold Over Funds" This choice, like "No Award in Hugo balloting, gives you the chance to vote for no TAFF trip this year, should you feel none of the candidates deserve your support. Hold Over Funds may be voted for in any position, and is exempt from the 20% requirement: if it receives a majority of the votes on the final ballot, no trip will be held this year.

"No Preference" For voters who prefer not to choose between candidates, but don't want the trip held over.

How to Vote: Either send a copy of this form with a cheque, or pay via PayPal. The minimum donation to vote is $3 (USD) or £2 (GBP) or 3 Euros. Cheques should be made payable to "Curt Phillips (for checks in USD) or to "TAFF (for cheques in GBP or Euros). PayPal donations should be made to the email addresses below indicating your contact details and your ranked voting preferences in the comments' section. If you do not fill in the comments section, your vote may not be counted!

Send your signed and completed ballot form and donation to:

Europe: Jim Mowatt  cheques payable to TAFF

273 The Rowans, Milton, Cambridge, CB24 6ZA

Paypal using email jim [at] umor.co.uk

North America: Curt Phillips  Cheques payable to Curt Phillips 19310 Pleasant View Dr. Abingdon, VA 24211

Paypal using email absarka_prime [at] comcast.net

Enclosed is as my contribution to TAFF – minimum $3 (USD) £2 (GBP) or 3 Euros

If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, please provide the name and contact details of an active fan (not a fan group, a candidate, or one of their nominators) who is known to the administrators and who can vouch for you being an active fan, eligible to vote.

Active fan known to an administrator:


Reproduction of this form is encouraged. It is the official voting vehicle and must be reproduced verbatim.

Anyone reproducing this form should substitute their name here: Jim Mowatt

2015 Ballot, Europe to North America

Nina Horvath

Whatever can happen, does happen. So why not an Austrian for TAFF? – Nina Horvath is a science-­fiction fan and an award winning author. She has been to conventions in Croatia, the Czech Republic, Germany, Ireland, Slovakia and the Ukraine so far, but is eager to travel further.She has already written con reports quite often and will do so again with pleasure. She is eager to take up the honourable task to represent Europe ?s fandom in North America in a very serious way – but nevertheless hopes to find enough time for her favourite ­activity: Socializing with other fans over a beer.

Nominated by: David Hartwell, David Lally, Gloria McMillan, Mihaela Marija Perkovic, Cristian Tamas

Wolf von Witting

Has TAFF ever had a more pan-European candidate? German-Swedish-Scottish, born in Finland, married in Moscow, living in Italy. Touched by the Wand Contact 1974. First convention 1977 in Kleve, Germany. Touched by the 2nd Wand, called Fanac, in 1978 causing me over the years to produce more than 200 fanzines in three languages.
With my quarterly fanzine CounterClock I never stop striving to improve on my writing. As fan-illustrator, Atom and Rotsler have been paragons. I smoffed, filked and dabbled in fan-history. I know no greater honour than to follow in the footsteps of Walt Willis. Travel report guaranteed.

Nominated by: Arnie Katz, Ronald M Hahn, John-Henri Holmberg, Lloyd Penney, Chris O’ Shea

Please rank candidates with 1, 2, etc. where 1 is your first preference:

[ ] Nina Horvath [ ] Wolf von Witting
[ ] Hold Over Funds [ ] No Preference




TAFF may contact you regarding your ballot or to send out newsletters. We do not publish your data or pass it to any other organisation.