What is TAFF? The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund was created in 1953 for the purpose of providing funds to bring well-known and popular fans familiar to those on both sides of the ocean across the Atlantic. Since that time TAFF has regularly brought North American fans to European conventions and European fans to North American conventions. TAFF exists solely through the support of fandom. The candidates are voted on by interested fans all over the world, and each vote is accompanied by a donation of not less than $2 or £1. These votes, and the continued generosity of fandom, are what make TAFF possible.

Who may vote? Voting in the 1995 race is open to anyone who was active in fandom prior to September 1993, and who contributes at least $2 or £1 to the Fund. Larger contributions will be gratefully accepted. Voting is by secret ballot: only one vote per person, and you must sign your ballot. You may change your vote any time prior to the deadline.

Deadline: Votes in this race must reach the administrators by midnight 29 April 1995.

Voting details: TAFF uses a preferential ballot system which guarantees automatic runoffs until a majority is obtained. You rank the candidates in the exact order of your preference for them. If the leading first-place candidate does not get a majority, the first-place votes for the lowest-ranking candidate are dropped, and the second-place votes on those ballots are counted as first-place votes. This process repeats itself until one candidate has a majority. Your votes for second and third place are important, but you may give your candidate only one ranking on your ballot. In order to win, a candidate must receive at least 20% of the first-ballot first-place votes on both sides of the Atlantic, separately. Any candidate failing to receive this minimum percentage on either side will be dropped, and the second-place votes on their ballots counted as first-place votes in the next ballot count. Thus candidates and their supporters will need to canvass fans on both sides of the pond. You may send your ballot to either administrator, but it will be tabulated with the other votes from the side of the Atlantic on which you reside. Votes from fans not resident in either Europe or North America will not count towards either 20% minimum, but are important to the outcome of the race.

Hold Over Funds: This choice, like 'No Award' in Hugo balloting, gives you the chance to vote for no TAFF trip this year, if the candidates do not appeal. Hold Over Funds may be voted for in any position, and is exempt from the 20% requirement; thus, should it receive a majority of the votes on the final ballot, no TAFF trip will be held this year regardless of how many votes Hold Over Funds received on the first ballot.

No Preference: For voters who prefer not to choose between candidates, but don't want the trip held over.

Donations: TAFF gratefully accepts your freely-given money and material for auction; such generosity has sustained the Fund for 40 years. TAFF is fandom's oldest travel fund, and one of its worthiest causes -- give early and often!. Please contact your nearest administrator for details.

Candidates: Each candidate has posted a bond, promising -- barring Acts of God -- to travel to Intersection, the 1995 World Science Fiction Convention, in Glasgow, Scotland, August 24-28, 1995, if elected; and has provided signed nominations and a platform (overleaf).

Please read both sides of this ballot before voting. Send the entire sheet as your vote.





phone number (we do not list or exchange this information)


Enclosed is __________ as a contribution to TAFF. Please make cheques etc payable to Jeanne Bowman or Abigail Frost, not to TAFF, and in the currency of the administrator's country.

If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, then in order to qualify your vote, please give, in the space below, the name and address of an active fan (not a fan group, a candidate or their nominator) who is known to them and to whom you are known:

Reproduction of this form is encouraged. It is the official voting vehicle and must be reproduced verbatim. Anyone doing so should substitute their name here: Dave Langford [HTML conversion for Web].

side 2:

1995 TAFF Ballot -- North America to Europe

Joe Wesson

Why should you vote for me? Well, I write a little rag called 'Joe Wesson Magazine'. I was one of the infamous Runeboys. I worked on Autoclave (1st US fanzine con). I've attended too many American conventions (save me). I know how to stay up late, drink and make a fool of myself. I've been involved in this thing called Fandom for 25 years (hideous thought). I'm liked or loathed by all the right people. I've always wanted to make the trip, but money....

Vote for me, I'm better than hold-over-funds.

And remember, have fun or DIE.

Nominators: Nigel Richardson, Gary Mattingly, Linda Krawecke, Lucy Huntzinger, Garth Danielson.

Dan Steffan


10] After 26 years in Fandom, I still believe that Fans are Slans (and that Sex Camps in the Ozarks deserve reconsideration).
9] I edited eight issues of Boonfark.
8] I was nominated for the Fanartist Hugo Award, even though my cat drew everything.
7] I co-edited 42 issues of Pong.
6] I promise to French-kiss D West.
5] I co-edited five issues of Science Fiction Eye.
4] My wife will show you her Tattoos.
3] I co-edit BLAT!
2] I've seen Ted White naked.
1] The drinks are on me!

Nominators: Ted White, Greg Pickersgill, Robert Lichtman, Dave Langford, Andy Hooper.

Samanda b Jeudé

You should vote for me because: I am short, red-haired, busty and wear VERY low-cut dresses; all but one of my magic tattoo's (the one in a 'private' place) will be available for viewing; after 20 years in Fandom, I know lots of Fun Fannish Traditions; I won the Big Heart Award for my big... hearts;-) I am mom to a flying kitten; my Klingons will get you if you don't! The real reason: I will be looking in Britain (and, if possible, parts of Europe) to see how Electrical Eggs Access can help bring ALL fans into fandom.

Nominators: Bob Shaw, Charlotte Proctor, Dick & Nicki Lynch, George 'Lan' Laskowski, Andy Croft.

Please read and fill out both sides of this sheet. Send in entire sheet as your vote. Do not detach this portion!

I vote for (rank 1, 2, 3 etc):

[ ___ ] Joe Wesson

[ ___ ] Dan Steffan

[ ___ ] Samanda b Jeudé

[ ___ ] Hold Over Funds

[ ___ ] No Preference

Send Ballot & Donation to:

Jeanne Bowman
PO Box 982
Glen Ellen, CA USA

Abigail Frost
95 Wilmot St
London, E2 0BP
United Kingdom