1975 [1976] TAFF Ballot

What is TAFF? The Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund was created in 1953 for the purpose of providing funds to bring well-known and popular fans across the Atlantic. Since that time, TAFF has regularly brought overseas fans to the USA and sent American fans to European conventions. TAFF exists solely through the support of fandom. The candidates are voted on by interested fans all over the world and each vote is accompanied by a donation of not less than one dollar. These votes, and the continued interest of fans are what make TAFF possible.

Who may vote? Voting is open to anyone who was active in fandom (fanzines, clubs, conventions etc.) prior to September 1973, and who contributes at least a dollar (or equivalent) to the fund. Contributions in excess of the minimum will be gratefully accepted. Only one vote per person is allowed, no proxy votes, and you MUST sign your ballot. Details of voting will be kept secret, and write-ins are permitted. Money orders and checks should be made payable to the administrators, not TAFF.

Deadline Votes must reach the administrators by December 31, 1975.

Voting details TAFF uses the Australian system, which guarantees an automatic runoff and a majority win. You rank the candidates in the exact order you wish to vote. If the leading first-place candidate does not get a majority, the first-place votes of the lowest-ranking candidate are dropped, and the second-place votes on those ballots are counted. This process goes on until one candidate has a majority. IT IS THEREFORE IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR SECOND, THIRD, ETC. PLACE ON YOUR BALLOT. It is also a waste of time to put one name in more than one place.

Hold over funds This choice, similar to "No Award" in Hugo balloting, gives the voter the chance to vote for no TAFF trip if the candidates do not appeal to him, or if he feels TAFF should slow down its programme of trips. "Hold over funds" may be voted for in any position you wish as if it were another candidate.

Donations TAFF needs continuous donations of money, and material to be auctioned, in order to exist. If you are ineligible to vote, or do not feel qualified to vote, why not donate anyway? It's a good cause.

Candidates Each candidate has promised, barring acts of God, to travel to the 1976 Eastercon in England. They have posted bond and provided signed nominations and platforms which are reproduced on the other side of this sheet along with the ballot.

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT: Your ballot and contribution entitle you to a free chance in a lottery for an original Eddie Jones oil-painting.



American Administrators:

European Administrator:

Len and June Moffatt,
Box 4456, Downey
C.A. 90241, U.S.A.

Peter Weston
72 Beeches Drive, Erdington
Birmingham B24 0DT, U.K.


Bill Bowers

Bill Bowers hasn't been trying to publish the Ideal Fanzine forever; just for thirteen years. In 1962, he attended Chicon III, and began publishing Double:Bill with Bill Mallardi. By 1969, they'd produced 21 issues and earned two Hugo nominations. The desire to create, and communicate, led Bill to publish Outworlds in 1970. After five years, 23 issues, two Hugo nominations and the editor's entry into FAPA, it's thriving.

Bill doesn't stay hidden in his post office box, either. He's that tall quiet man talking to someone in the corner at seven worldcons and innumerable regionals, quiet but impressive -- that's Father William. You'll enjoy meeting him.

Nominated by: Eric Bentcliffe, Sheryl Birkhead, Donn Brazier, Mike Glicksohn, Terry Jeeves and Susan Wood.

Roy Tackett

Roy Tackett's friendly charm, wit, outgoing good nature and no-nonsense attitude about a myriad of things have made Dynatron and Roy popular and well-known since 1960. Member of First Fandom, FAPA, CAPA, NFFF, he has been an office-holder in most of them; a Director in the I.S.L., Fan Guest of Honour at Westercon XXII and a guiding force behind the formation of the Albuquerque S.F.S, and the Bubonicon. Active in Japanese fandom, Roy received their first Japanese SF Federation Award (1965).

Fans have found him a congenial, interesting and colourful conversationalist at convention-time. Let's share him with England, for truly, Roy Tackett is the TAFFan for all reasons.

Nominated by: Ed Cox, Mike Glyer, Peter Roberts, Bob Vardeman, Harry Warner, Jr., and Ulf Westblom.


Enclosed is ________ as my contribution to TAFF.

If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, in order to qualify for voting please give the name and address of a fan or fan group to whom you are known:



I vote for (list 1, 2, 3):

______ Bill Bowers

______ Roy Tackett

______ Hold Over Funds



Please print legibly