GUFF is a one-shot fan fund which has been created to send/bring a popular Australian fan to the British 1979 World SF Convention, SEACON. There are fan funds between America and Europe and between America and Australia (TAFF and DUFF) but by holding a special fund contest between Australia and Britain British fans will get to see what a dinkum Aussiefan looks like and Australian fandom will express a unique kind, of support for SEACON.

GUFF will be a success through the efforts and. support of fandom. The candidates will be voted for by fans all over the world and each vote is accompanied by a donation of not less than $1.50 or £0.80. These votes and other donations and financial support will make GUFF a success.

WHO MAY VOTE: Anyone who has been active in fandom (fanzines, conventions, clubs etc.) prior to January 1977 and who contributes $1.50 or £0.80 to the fund may vote. Contributions greater than the minimum are gratefully received. Only one vote per person is allowed, no proxy votes and you MUST sign your ballot. Details of the voting will be kept secret and write-ins are permitted. Money orders and cheques should be made payable to the administrators and not to GUFF.

DEADLINE: Votes must reach the administrators by the 30th April, 1979.

HOW THE VOTES ARE COUNTED: Votes are counted using the optional-preferential system which results in a majority win. You may rank the candidates in the order you wish to vote, if the leading first-place candidate does not. get a majority of the votes cast the lowest-ranking candidate is dropped and his second-place votes are redistributed to the remaining candidates. In a three person contest such as this one this process will guarantee that one of the remaining candidates wins by a clear majority. If you wish to give preferences in your vote it is therefore important to vote for second and third places on your ballot.

However voters have the option of voting only for their choice of candidates and not allotting preferences. If you wish to do this simply place a "1" beside your choice and ignore the others. When the votes are counted, if you have voted for the lowest placed candidate and there is no clear majority, your ballot will be discarded when preferences are redistributed.

DONATIONS: GUFF will need contributions of money and material (for auction) in order to be a success. If you are ineligible to vote or do not feel qualified to vote donations will be gratefully accepted anyway.

THE CANDIDATES: On the reverse side of this sheet are listed the names of the candidates, the names of their nominators and a short statement in support of their candidature. Each candidate has posted a bond and promised that, barring acts of ghod, he will travel to the 1979 World SF Convention at Brighton, Britain.


British Administrator

Dave Langford
22 Northumberland Avenue
Berkshire RG2 7PW
Australian Administrator

Leigh Edmonds
P0 Box 103
Victoria 3056

Reproduction of this form is encouraged providing only that the text is reproduced completely and unaltered.


John Alderson

With your help this is going to be my first overseas convention. I am a faned and a fan-writer as well as an aspiring author with several published stories to my credit, and I have just finished a novel. Farmer by profession, interests in history, mythology and anthropology. Science fiction just comes naturally though living a long way from Melbourne has cut me off from much fan activity so I am better known by my writings. I am consequently a rural fan, a different, rare and very distinctive breed with a taste for wine and Yorkshire pudding.

Nominators: Pete Presford, Andrew Darlington, Marc Ortlieb, Lee Harding & Paul Stevens.

John Foyster

Attended Australian SF conventions since 1958: chairman of 1966 and 1971 conventions. Published many fanzines since 1961 including THE WILD COLONIAL BOY, SATURA/THE GRYPHON, EXPLODING MADONNA/THE JOURNAL OF OMPHALISTIC EPISTEMOLOGY. Coedited (with Edmonds) NORSTRILIAN NEWS and BOYS' OWN FANZINE. Guest edited AUSTRALIAN SCIENCE FICTION REVIEW and SF COMMENTARY. Member of SAPS (1962-1972), FAPA (1969-1972, 1976-), OMPA (1969), ANZAPA (on and off since 1968). Won Ditmar for best fanzine (1970) and best Australian SF (1973). Initiated DUFF (1972). Twice founded the Nova Mob. When backed into a corner about his SF criticism pleads guilty but insane. Dislikes motor cars.

Nominators: Christopher Priest, Peter Nicholls, John Bangsund, Carey Handfield & Robin Johnson.

Eric Lindsay

To Whom It May Concern,

This is to certify that Eric B Lindsay is full of GUFF. May he therefore be exiled back to the Old Dart and fed on water and bread as his ancestors were on the reciprocal journey before him. May he, moreover, be held up to Scorn and Ridicule and let his name be an Abomination and an Awful Warning. Here, but for the enlightened law of Transportation, is what Englishmen might have descended to.

He is guilty of Publishing Fanzines, writing LoCs, attending conventions, forgetting things, putting on conventions, writing articles, talking to fans, forgetting things, reading science fiction, using SR I, collecting books, forgetting things, attending parties, throwing parties, forgetting things and forgetting things.

Nominators: Terry Jeeves, Dave Rowe, Ken Ozanne, Keith Curtiss & Neville Angove.


John Alderson

John Foyster

Eric Lindsay

Name (print)


Enclosed is my contribution to GUFF of ________ ($1.50 or 80p minimum.)

If you think your name may not be known to the administrators, in order to make sure of qualifying for voting please give the name and address of a fan or fan group to whom you are known.

Name Address