

# TAFFLINE

# THE NEWSLETTER

TAFFline #6 was created by the administrators of the Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund, who are:

Europe: John Coxon (john.coxon@gmail.com) North America: Jacq Monahan (jaxn8r@msn.com)

Find us online! Website: www.taff.org.uk LiveJournal: TAFFnews.livejournal.com Twitter: twitter.com/TAFFnews Facebook: facebook.com/groups/TAFFnews

#### THE WINNER!

The votes are in, and counted. We have a winner:

#### Jim Mowatt.

Congratulations to Jim, who will be going to LoneStarCon 3; commiserations to Theresa Derwin, his honourable opponent. The administrators would like to thank both candidates for their patience and good humour throughout the voting period. We wish Jim a fantastic trip to San Antonio and other amazing locales!

#### THE RESULTS

58 votes were cast in North America and 60 votes in Europe, with an extra three votes from the rest of the world. These raised a total of \$533.23 in North America and £349.68 in Europe.

The results of the first-place voting can be seen in the table, below. The votes of the fans from the rest of the world who voted have been folded into the results from North America to preserve the anonymity of those voters.

#### THE 2013 TRIP

Now that Jim has won the Fund for the 2013 trip, we're beginning to start the logistics phase of the process. There's much the administrators do to help him out, but ultimately the success of the trip rests on those people kind enough to volunteer spare rooms and kitchens to house and feed our bewildered representative. If you are willing to host Jim during his trip, please get in touch with him to let him know: **jim@umor.co.uk**.

If you're interested in following Jim's progress through North America, please head over to <u>www.tafftrip.com</u>, which he'll be updating through his preparation and his trip.

### THE VOTING BREAKDOWN

	North America	Europe	total
Theresa Derwin	5	11	16
Jim Mowatt	47	44	91
hold over funds	1	0	1
no preference	8	5	13
total	61	60	121

Jim Mowatt won with a majority of the first preference votes.

The 20% rule meant that each candidate needed to get 10 votes in North America and 11 votes in Europe ('no preference' was not included when calculating these numbers).

#### THE SUPPORTERS

TAFF is nothing without the support of science fiction fandom, and we are so very grateful that many of you voted in the race to send a fan to LoneStarCon 3! Hopefully we'll see the same names cropping up when it comes time to send an American fan to Loncon 3.

Thanks, in Europe, to: Adrian Middleton, Ang Rosin, Bridget Bradshaw, Cardinal Cox, Caroline Mullan, Carrie Mowatt, Cat Coast, Chris Amies, Christina Lake, Claire Brialey, Dave Hicks, David A McIntee, David Haddock, David Langford, David Mansfield, David Redd, Doug Bell, Doug Spencer, Eddie Cochrane, Fran Dowd, Helen Cross, Heloise Tudor, Ian Millsted, James Bacon, James Shields, Jan van't Ent, Jim Linwood, Jim Mowatt, Johan Anglemark, John Dallman, John Nielsen Hall, Jonathan Lewis-Jones, Julia Daly, Julie Faith Rigby, Liz Batty, Malcolm Hutchison, Mark Plummer, Martin Stewart, Martin Tudor, Mike Ford, Naomi Cowan-Barkley, Nik Whitehead, Pat McMurray, Pamela Boal, Peter Sullivan, Richard Gray, Rob Hansen, Rob Jackson, Ron Gemmell, Roy Kettle, Sandra Bond, Sarah Mooring, Silas Potts, Steve Glover, Steve Green, Steve Jones, Sue Edwards, Theresa Derwin, Tobes Valois, Tony Keen and Yvonne Rowse.

In North America: Alan White, Alexis Gilliland, Andrew Hooper, Andrew Porter, Antonia Weisskopf, Arnie Katz, Arthur Hlavaty, Bill Burns, Brenda Dupont, Carrie Root, Christopher Garcia, Crystal Huff, Curt Phillips, D. Potter, David Axler, David Rike, Erwin Strauss, Frank Denton, Garv Mattingly, Gay Haldeman, Geri Sullivan, Ian E. Stockdale, Jack Calvert, Jack William Bell, Jacq Monahan, Janice Murray, Jay Kinney, Jerry Kaufman, Joe Haldeman, Joel Zakem, John D. Berry, John Hardin, John Hertz, Joyce (DeDee) White, Joyce Worley Katz, June Moffatt, Kate Yule, Katrina Templeton, Lenny Bailes, Lloyd Penney, Luke McGuff, Marc Shirmeister, Mark L. Olson, Martin Wouster, Mary Burns, Mike McInerney, Murray Moore, Nic Farey, R-Laurraine Tutihasi, Randy Byers, Rich Coad, Rich McAllister, Robert Lichtman, Spike, Steven Silver, Sumner G. Hunnewell, Suzanne Tomkins, Yvonne Penney.

In the rest of the world, Bill Wright, Kylie Ding and Peter Young.

Thanks also go to Claire Brialey and Roger Earnshaw for unsolicited donations made at EightSquaredCon.

#### THE OUTGOING

This is the penultimate newsletter of John's administration, and as such he plans next time to release some accounts and whatnot to reassure the electorate that he didn't spend all the money on beer and pizza. Expect to see the proof next issue.

Also, work on the trip report from the 2011 race to Renovation has begun. Notes from the trip were published in an assortment of fanzines soon after John returned, but a full trip report with fewer uses of the word 'awesome' and a slightly more sensible structure is coming. It will be available in paper for a fee, and in various electronic formats (.pdf, .epub, .mobi) for a slightly smaller fee.

# THE AUCTION

TAFF, along with our sister fan fund GUFF, had a strong presence at EightSquaredCon, the 64th British National Science Fiction Convention held at the Cedar Court in Bradford over Easter weekend. We held a fan fund auction and had an impromptu book sale afterwards, with the funds raised being split evenly between the two fan funds. The fan fund auction raised £655.50, and our assorted other fund raising on the night brought the total up to £882.05, so many thanks to everyone who put money into the tin and bought books after the auction had concluded. The money raised will be split evenly between GUFF and TAFF, so both funds will receive £441.02 and we'll have a fight over that remaining penny at the next Eastercon.

John Coxon was co-ordinating the TAFF activities at EightSquaredCon and wants to extend a huge vote of gratitude to Jim Mowatt and Theresa Derwin for their help as the TAFF candidates; James Shields for his invaluable assistance as the GUFF administrator; and also to Flick and to Claire Brialey for their help, both at the convention and by assisting with co-ordination. John would also like to thank all the fans who brought tat and all the fans who bought tat.

The audience at the auction wasn't really in the mood to bid on books, and although we shifted quite a few in the free-for-all after the auction, we still had many left; those that remained at the end of the night were given to Fran and John Dowd as a donation to the SF Outreach programme to be given away for fandom.

#### THE ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The administrators would like to thank Bill Burns for hosting TAFF newsletters and fanzines on <u>www.efanzines.com</u> and Dave Langford for helping with news distribution and for his ongoing maintenance of <u>www.taff.org.uk</u>.

The TAFF logo is © 2006 Anne Stokes and used with permission. The font used for the title is CODON and was designed by Tom Murphy, who can be found at fonts.tom7.com. The remaining contents of this newsletter are licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Licence.