



# TAFFLINE

# THE NEWSLETTER

TAFFline #3 was created by the administrators of the Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund, who are:

Europe: John Coxon (john.coxon@gmail.com)

North America: **Anne & Brian Gray** (akg.netmouse@gmail.com)

For more details about TAFF, please visit our website, www.taff.org.uk. To talk to others about the Fund, you can check us out on various social networks: twitter.com/TAFFnews, facebook.com/TAFFnews, and at taffnews.livejournal.com.

Our most sincere thanks must go to the candidates and their nominators, without whose energy, creativity and co-operation the race would have much less interesting

TAFFline #1 and #2 were published by Steve Green, the previous European administrator, and made available through the TAFF website; we have elected to continue the name with this publication.

# THE WINNER!

The votes are in, and counted. We have a winner:

## Jacqueline Monahan.

Congratulations to Jacq, who will be going to Olympus 2012; commiserations to Warren Buff and Kim Kofmel, who fought a good campaign that did a lot to raise the profile of the Fund, including collaborating on a zine to promote the race. Any of the three would have been a worthy winner.

# THE RESULTS

92 votes were cast, raising \$633.09 and £151.30 on each side of the pond, with one from outside Europe and North America; this vote has been counted with those from Europe in these results to preserve the anonymity of their preferences.

The results of the first-place voting can be seen in the table, below. There is no entry for 'hold over funds' since this did not attract any first-place voting.

	North America	Europe	total
Warren Buff	28	2	30
Kim Kofmel	15	12	27
Jacqueline Monahan	27	8	35
no preference	2	6	8
total	72	28	100

Since Warren Buff did not get 20% of the vote on both sides of the Atlantic, he was disqualified. The second round looked like this:

Kim Kofmel	29	13	42
Jacqueline Monahan	35	10	45
total	64	23	87

The winner was Jacqueline Monahan, who received a 52% share of the 87 votes counted.

#### THE 2012 TRIP

Jacq has already started to plan her trip to the United Kingdom. If you want to offer her a place to stay or to give any advice you may have about her visit, please feel free to email her: jaxn8r@msn.com.

#### THE 2011 TRIP

John got back from his 2011 trip in late August and had a lovely time, thank you for asking. He is currently seeking contributions (con reports and artwork) from other Renovation attendees. If you'd like to contribute anything – particularly art! – please get in touch with him at the email address above. The report is planned for release at Olympus 2012.

## THE AUCTION

We are pleased to report that the Fan Fund Auction held at Renovation, the 63rd annual World Science Fiction Convention, raised over \$2600 total for the fan funds (just over \$2,800 if you include donations collected in the ConSuite). Bidding for several items was fast and furious (vet friendly, and as far as we could see, still fun), with the most interest paid to art pieces and movie ephemera. A devilish bid of \$666 won the signed Frank Frazetta print, and the current DUFF delegate Dave Cake brought several pieces from Weta Studios that were hotly contested. (TAFF delegate John Coxon bought a T-shirt.) Numerous current and past delegates helped with the auction (TAFF: John Coxon, Chris Garcia, Anne, Brian & Rosie Gray, and Jerry Kaufman; DUFF: Dave Cake and John Hertz), and Liz Zitzow did a commendable job as our auctioneer. Thanks again to all who participated and made the auction a smashing success!

Of the \$2807.37 raised, \$1046.37 went to the US branch of TAFF, \$400 to the UK branch of TAFF, with \$861 to DUFF and \$500 to a new fan fund. For those of you who have not yet heard the news, Anne Gray and Gay Haldeman, along with several collaborators in Brazil, Mexico, Peru, and elsewhere, are initiating the Latin American Fan Fund (LAFF), to enable Latin American fans to travel to the WorldCon, wherever it may be that year. If the effort fails to take off within the next two years, the seed monies will be redistributed amongst the other fan funds.

Anyone wishing to contribute to the LAFF seed fund (thank you!) can use PayPal to make a donation to laff.ffl@gmail.com. TAFF is nothing without the support of science fiction fandom, and we are so very grateful that many of you voted in the race to send a fan to Olympus (and hope, most sincerely, that you vote in the race to send a fan to LoneStarCon III in 2013). We are thrilled to thank each of you by name!

In Europe: Alison Scott, Christina Lake, Claire Brialey, Dave Langford, Doug Bell, Douglas Spencer, Flick, Fran Dowd, Graham Charnock, James Bacon, Jan van 't Ent, Jim Linwood, Jim Mowatt, John Dowd, John Harvey, John Medany, John Nielsen Hall, Liz Batty, Mark Plummer, Mike Scott, Omega, Peter Sullivan, Rita Medany, Rob Jackson, Sandra Bond, Steve Green, and Sue Edwards.

In North America: Aileen Forman, Alan White, Alissa McKersie, Arnie Katz, Arthur Hlavaty, Ben Yalow, Bill Burns, Bobbie Farey, Brenda Dupont, Catherine Crockett, Chris Garcia, Chris Hensley, Clifton Davis, Colin Hinz, Curt Phillips, David M. Gordon, David W. Gallaher, DeDee White, Pat Virzi, Dian Crayne, España Sheriff, Frank Kalisz, Gary Farber, Gary Mattingly, Geri Sullivan, Grant Kruger, Ian Stockdale, Jacq Monahan, James Taylor, Janice Murray, Jeanne Gomoll, Jessica Lipp, Jim Hudson, Joel D. Zakem, John Berry, John Hardin, Joy Smith, Joyce Katz, Juan Sanmiguel, Karen Meschke, Kathy Becker, Ken Forman, Keri Bas, Kevin Standlee, Kim Kofmel, Laurie Kunkel, Laurie Mann, Laurraine Tutihasi, Linda Wenzelburger, Lloyd Penney, Margaret Davis, Mark Hall, Michael J. Lowrey, Michael Kennedy, Mike Glyer, Millie Kalisz, Murray Moore, Ned Brooks, Nic Farey, Peggy Rae Sapienza, Randal Smith, Randy Byers, Richard Coad, Richard Dengrove, Robert Lichtman, Shelby Vick, Steve Silver, Tammy Coxen, Teresa Cochran, Warren Buff, Woody Bernardi and Yvonne Penney.

In the rest of the world, Janice Gelb.

#### THE ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The administrators would like to thank Bill Burns for hosting TAFF newsletters and fanzines on <u>www.efanzines.com</u> and Dave Langford for helping with news distribution and for his ongoing maintenance of <u>www.taff.org.uk</u>. Further, we would like to thank SF3, Mette Hedin and Bill Parker for additional contributions to the fund.

The TAFF logo is © 2006 Anne Stokes and used with permission. The font used for the title is CODON and was designed by Tom Murphy, who can be found at fonts.tom7.com. The remaining contents of this newsletter are licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Licence.

#### THE SUPPORTERS