

# Official TAFF Press Release 25 April 2019

2019 Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund Delegate Announced

The Administrators of the 2019 TAFF campaign are pleased to announce that Geri Sullivan will be the 2019 TAFF Delegate. She will attend Dublin 2019 - An Irish Worldcon, the 77<sup>th</sup> Annual World Science Fiction Convention to be held in Dublin, Ireland on August 15-19, 2019 (see their website at <u>https://dublin2019.com</u>), and she plans to travel to Titancon and additional destinations throughout the United Kingdom and perhaps elsewhere during her trip.



eventually she began publishing her fanzine Idea.

From *TAFF News Redux* #2, here is some biographical information about Geri Sullivan:

Originally from Battle Creek, Michigan, Geri did not truly meet anybody in science fiction fandom until moving to Minneapolis, Minnesota in the late 1970s. She became an active member of Minn-stf (the Minnesota Science Fiction Society, Inc.), by getting involved in working on Minicon, the annual Minn-stf run Easter science fiction convention, hosting club <del>parties</del> meetings at her home (called Toad Hall), where many a celebrated music party would run until dawn, and

By 1990, Geri's fannish activity level increased – if you can believe that was possible. She helped bring Corflu to Minneapolis in 1989, ran the fan lounge and the Minneapolis in '73 party suite at Magicon, the 1992 Worldcon in Orlando, Florida, and has also worked on Worldcon fan lounges, publications, and served assorted Worldcons in other functions. In 2004 Geri moved to Massachusetts, joined NESFA, and could have retired to a bucolic life in the wooded wilds of New England, but did not. If anything, she cranked her fanac dial up to 11 by working on Boskones, publing even more fanzines, including the Best Fanzine Hugo award winning *Science-Fiction Five Yearly* in 2007 with co-editors Lee Hoffman and Randy Byers, and producing even more fannish publications over the past few years. We could go on listing other fannish activities and achievements of hers, but the bottom of the page is fast approaching and we really need to wrap this up.

1

Oh. Did we mention that Geri is energetic? Dublin, ye donna know what ye're in for...

Following her return home, Geri will become the next North American administrator of TAFF, and will conduct the 2020 TAFF campaign and election in association with Johan Anglemark. Fans throughout Europe who may be interested in standing for TAFF in 2020 should make a point of talking with Geri and Johan at the Dublin Worldcon, or elsewhere on Geri's trip, if at all possible, in order to begin the process of becoming involved in one of the best experiences a fan can have. However, because Worldcon will not take place in North America in 2020, it has not yet been decided whether the 2020 TAFF race will be westbound, as is traditional, or eastbound for a second year in a row, which has occasionally happened in the past for similar reasons. Also, do not forget to attend the next League of Fan Funds auction at the Worldcon where you will find a wealth of fannish and sf-ish loot and booty from across time and space. All proceeds benefit the fan funds associated with Dublin 2019 – An Irish Worldcon. For more information about the Trans-Atlantic Fan Fund – past, present, and future – please visit David Langford's excellent TAFF website at www.taff.org.uk.

Here is the breakdown of the voting results by first preference. As you can see, Geri won by simple majority in the first round of counting:

Candidate	NA	Europe	RoW	Total
Teresa Cochran	13	2		15
Sarah Gulde	18	10	2	30
Michael Lowrey	13	12		25
Geri Sullivan	87	44	5	136
Hold Over Funds				
No Preference	4	1		5
Total votes	135	69		211

### RESULTS

Even though this was not a close race, we still double- and triple-checked our figures for accuracy. We wish to thank Teresa, Sarah, Michael, and Geri for a fun TAFF campaign, and hope that Teresa, Sarah, and Mike all make a run again. Our most sincere thanks to all who voted in, contributed to, or otherwise supported the 2019 TAFF campaign. See you in Dublin!

## John Purcell, North American TAFF Administrator

## Johan Anglemark, European TAFF Administrator

2

# List of voters

### North America

Eve Ackerman, Adina Adler, Dave Axler, Allan Baum, Judith Bemis, Gregory Benford, Michael Benveniste, John D. Berry, Gary S Blog, Kent Bloom, Kathy Bond, Josh Boykin, Seth Breidbart, Elaine Brennan, Ann Broomhead, Sue Burke, Bill Burns, Mary Burns, Pam Burr, Linda Bushyager, David Cantor, Rich Coad, Teresa Cochran, Eli Cohen, Catherine Crockett, Mary C. Cunningham, Tony Cvetko, James Daugherty, Linda Deneroff, Gay Ellen Dennett, Tammy Deschamps, Michael Dobson, Cathy Doyle, L. Richard Duffy, Brenda DuPont, Donald Eastlake, Jill Eastlake, Jennifer Farey, Nic Farey, David C Farmer, Bruce Farr, Lea Farr, Leah Fisher, Aileen Forman, James Frenkel, David Gallaher, Christopher Garcia, Deb Geisler, Catherine Green, Sarah Gulde, John W. Hardin, Felicia Herman, Mark Herrup, Lisa Hertel, John Hertz, Colin Hinz, Chip Hitchcock, Arthur Hlavaty, Andrew Hooper, James Hudson, Crystal Huff, Lucy Huntzinger, Haley Isleib, Jerry Kaufman, Alexis Layton, Fonda Lee, Steven Lee, Fred Lerner, Robert Lichtman, Michael Lowrey, Derwin Mak, Jim Mann, Laurie Mann, Rich McAllister, Dave McCarty, Elizabeth McCarty, Alaina Means, Jacqueline Monahan, Helen Montgomery, Murray Moore, Janice Murray, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Teresa Nielsen Hayden, Ulrika O'Brien, David O'Neill, Mark L. Olson, Priscilla Olson, Tony Parker, Curt Phillips, Lizbeth Phillips, Andrew Porter, Donna Prior, John Purcell, Theresa Renner, Neil Rest, Mark Richards, Jim Rittenhouse, Kevin Roche, Carrie Root, Alan Rosenthal, Nigel Rowe, Ruth Sacher, Larry Sanderson, John Sapienza, Kate Savage, Sharon Sbarsky, Kristine Scalzi, Karen M. Schaffer, Jeff Schalles, Isabel Schechter, David W. Schroth, Joe Siclari, Steven H Silver, Jon Singer, Randal Smith, Edie Stern, Steve Stiles, Ian Stockdale, Jacqueline Stoner, Geri Sullivan, Timothy Szczesuil, James Taylor, Matthew Tepper, Suzanne Tompkins, Leslie Turek, R Laurraine Tutihasi, Pat Virzi, Michael Ward, Taral Wayne, David Weingart, Alan White, Donya White, Susan Whyte, Amy Woolard, Ben Yalow, Joel Zakem.

Eleven votes were rejected for not being accompanied by a donation and one for being a duplicate.

These kind people made a monetary donation without voting:

Francesca Flynn, Steven Johnson, Kyle McAbee, Robert Roehm, Robert Zelenka

## Europe

Johan Anglemark, Linnéa Anglemark, James Bacon, Chris Bell, Doug Bell, Bellis, Meike Benzler, Sandra Bond, Claire Brialey, Steven Cain, Pat Charnock, John Coxon, Tomas Cronholm, John Dallman, Steve Davies, Robert Day, Jim de Liscard, Vincent Docherty, Fran Dowd, Sue Edwards, Herman Ellingsen, Tommy Ferguson, Ed Fortune, Alison Freebairn, Steve Glover, Rob Hansen, Max Harden, Niall Harrison, John Harvey, John-Henri Holmberg, Robert Jackson, Fia Karlsson, Gareth Kavanagh, Tony Keen, Roy Kettle, Emma J. King, Marcin Kłak, Christina Lake, Stefan Lancaster, Jim Linwood, Esther MacCallum-Stewart, Dave Mansfield, Sue Mason, Helena McCallum, Patrick McMurray, Sarah Mooring, Jim Mowatt, Caroline Mullan, Joseph Nicholas, Therese Norén, Fionna O'Sullivan, Omega, Simon Ounsley, Catherine Pickersgill, Mark Plummer, Liam Proven, Thomas Recktenwald, Alison Scott, James Shields, Jared Shurin, Roger Sjölander, Cas Skelton, Paul Skelton, Anna Smith-Spark, Marguerite Smith, Lennart Uhlin, Tobes Valois, Jan vant Ent, Wolf von Witting.

## Rest of the World

Liz Batty, Janice Gelb, Irwin Hirsch, Shauna O'Meara, Jo Van Ekeren, Regina Kanyu Wang, Pete Young.

3